Welcome To Pinnacle InfoGallery Sports

SPORTS: Eagles Faces Indomitable Lions, Others In 2018 World Cup Qualifier

NIGERIA’S Super Eagles in a draw conducted on Friday has been grouped together with the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon; Zambia and Algeria’s national teams for the 2018 World Cup qualifier in Group B of the African Zone Qualifiers.

By this arrangement, anyone among Nigeria, Cameroon and Algeria, who featured at both South Africa 2010 and Brazil 2014 World Cups, will certainly proceed with the ticket to Russia, which means two others will miss out.
From records, Algeria knocked Nigeria out of the race in the 1982 FIFA World Cup, but Nigeria however retaliated against Algeria to qualify for the 1994 finals in USA.
Similarly, Cameroon hindered Nigeria from reaching the 1990 FIFA World Cup finals, winning 1-0 in Yaounde in a group contest even though Nigeria won the home leg 2-0 in Ibadan.
Below are all the participating nations and their various groupings as conducted for the match.

Group A

Libya, Guinea, DR Congo, Tunisia
Group B
Zambia, Cameroon, Nigeria, Algeria
Group C
Gabon, Morocco, Mali, Ivory Coast
Group D
Burkina Faso, South Africa, Cape Verde, Senegal
Group E
Uganda, Congo, Egypt, Ghana

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *